Skip to content

Changes made to Gibbon Public Library

by Doug Hanson

At its regular November meeting the Gibbon City Council passed four motions to take the leadership role for the Gibbon Public Library from the Sibley County Board. The library will still be a member of the Traverse des Sioux Library System.

A resolution establishing a public library and the By-Law were both approved.

The staffing was approved with Kimberly Holmquist remaining as Library Director at a salary of $24.50 per hour, with vacation, sick and holiday benefits. Wendy Vorwerk was named the Library Assistant at $17.00 per hour. She will be working 15 per week for 34 weeks and 20 hours per week for 18 weeks. No other benefits are offered.

The library subs were listed as Tamara Stadtherr, Rebekah Baker and Janet Graupman. They will receive $13.00 per hour. The new Library Board will have five members including Jeff Gatton, Amanda Rieke, Brittany Miller, Ashley Dodd and Roger Tabbert. The Board will schedule quarterly meetings with Directors receiving a $15 per diem per meeting.

Leave a Comment